Hello and Happy Absinthe Day!

What an appropriate holiday to start an American Absinthe Blog!

On March 5th 2007, the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) allowed real absinthe to be sold once again in the United States!

Five years later, I start this blog. The internet is so full of random blogs that I’m hesitant to start yet another one. But of course I put myself up to this, I made an offhand remark in an argument; “Who cares about pagecounts? The more good information out there, the better! Someone will come across it and it’s better that they see facts instead of myths.”

So as I care about the green fairy I feel a bit obligated to start this. There’s so much myth, misinformation, and propaganda about absinthe that it’s hard for me not to make a blog. Even if I only get three readers, ever.

So why do I care? It’s a long story, but the short version goes something like this. I was sober for the decade when most of my peers were developing alcoholism. I had many reasons, one of them being that alcohol tasted like crap to me. I’d have a drink—maybe a few times a year—but never more than just a glass of wine with the family on holidays or a celebratory drink for a huge occasion. Sure, I tried other stuff all the time. I live in a city full of craft breweries and a strong home-brew culture. Beer just really isn’t my thing. Cheap wines were easy to write off. Rum was sweet so that was just tolerable… and the list goes on.

I was snobby about it, but I was certainly open to trying new things. I tried “absinthe” before the ban was lifted in 2007. It was some homemade concoction by a renegade engineer friend of mine. It tasted horrible and left me thinking that I hated absinthe. I tried the green fairy again in 2010 with a faux-sinthe brand, unaware that there are plenty of fake “absinthes” on the American market. Again, it wasn’t my cup of tea at all. I pretty much filed absinthe in that section of my brain labeled “alcohol is gross”.

Luckily for me a girlfriend came along and gave me a glass of the real stuff. It was a fully distilled, historically accurate, and naturally colored absinthe. This wasn’t some high end, small batch, artisan stuff. This was the easiest that you could find and still get real absinthe. It was called Lucid, and ironically this was also the first absinthe on the market in the United States after the TTB revised it’s position on the spirit. She poured it into a glass added some water and a bit of sugar. For herself she did the same, only without sugar.

Amazingly I liked it. I didn’t just tolerate it, I actually liked the flavor, so I tried her unsweetened version. I was amazed yet again, when I liked her version even more. Suddenly my more-sober-than-thou ego was deflated and I found myself more human and letting go of the dry elitist species of non-drinker that I had previously drummed myself up to be. I had to change—a lot. Not just my drinking habits but my attitude towards the rest of society.

The green fairy didn’t just reinvent my drinking habits, it changed my personality. It opened up a door to a once forbidden world of epicureanism that fit me like no other had. I wanted to know more, especially since I almost wrote off this drink as crap based on fake brands and homemade mistakes born from ignorance. So began my journey down the green rabbit hole. I picked up a few friends along the way. Good spirits of other kinds, but none of them could replace the Green Goddess.

Now over just one year later I find myself knowing more about distilling and the world of spirits than I had ever thought existed. I’ve traveled to absinthe conventions and spent days with kindred spirits. I’ve toured and seen distilleries operate, and even helped one distillery with various aspects of their product.

As of now my girlfriend and I have reviewed over thirty brands and tasted many more. Getting down to the dirty work I’ve spent time in fields harvesting Grande Wormwood, fondling Angelica, and learning about farming, soil, general herbalism, etc. The list could go on, but it’s weird to think that it’s only been just over a year.

That’s why I have to start this blog. Sure, when you get down to the basics of it, absinthe is just an herbal spirit. Yet to many—including myself—it has become so much more. I never thought I would find myself enthralled by any drink, ever. Here I stand corrected. So if I can help others find their way to this path amidst all the signs pointing the wrong way, then I’ve done something in return. So here it is, my blog, a thanks to the Green Goddess.

One thought on “Hello and Happy Absinthe Day!

Leave a Reply

